Angus sports awards nominations sought

ANGUS Council Sports Development Team will again honour Angus’ sporting stars at their annual sports awards ceremony in March.

And athletes, players, coaches, friends and families are encouraged to submit nomination forms now for consideration by the selection panel.

Launched in 1996, these awards have raised awareness of sporting strengths in the county, which range from top amateur golfers, curlers, swimmers and athletes through to the hundreds of local volunteers, coaches, officials and administrators who give of their time to support these budding sports champions. Radio Tay will host and broadcast the event.

Nominations are required in six categories:

Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Auchterhouse Country Sports; Young Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Radio Tay, Cash for Kids; Coach of the Year, sponsored by Coaching Angus; Service to Sport Award, sponsored by Angus College; Team of the Year, sponsored by McDonalds; Sports Personality of the Year Award for People with a Disability, sponsored by Angus Disability Sport in partnership with National Oilwell Varco.

To be eligible for an Angus Sports Award, the nominee must be an Angus resident, have amateur status and compete in a sport recognised by sportscotland. For the Service to Sport award the nominee must be an Angus resident and, for the purposes of this award, must not be a competitor or performer.

The Angus Sports Awards selection panel will meet in February to finalise a short list and winners for each award category. Nominations for the Angus Sports Awards, in association with Angus Ahead, can be completed and submitted on-line, or downloaded, at Forms are also available from all Angus Council leisure facilities, country parks, ACCESS offices, libraries and museums, and should be returned to: Colin Knight, Angus Council sports development team, The Yard, Queenswell Road, Forfar, DD8 3JA, by 5 p.m. on Friday, February 8.

Angus Sports Awards 2012, in association with Angus Ahead, will take place at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 5, at the Reid Hall, Forfar.