Council candidates named

editorial image

THE CANDIDATES contesting the upcoming Angus Council election for the Carnoustie and Monifeth areas have been revealed.

The two wards hold seven seats on Angus Council and all candidates had to submit their intention to stand in the election on Thursday.

Contesting the Carnoustie and District ward are current council members Brian Boyd, Independent and Helen Oswald, SNP.

Running against them will be Lorraine Barthorpe, Liberal Democrats; Bill Bowles, Independent; Adam Comrie, Conservative; Fiona Gibb, SNP and Hamid Rasheed, Labour.

In Monifieth and Sidlaw running again for election are Rob Murray, SNP and Margaret Thomson, Labour.

Also standing are Craig Fotheringham, Conservative; Sheila Hands, SNP; Liz Petrie, Liberal Democrats and Sandy Ritchie, SNP.

In total there are 50 candidates standing for the 29 seats available across Angus.

In the Ferry ward of Dundee City Council there are six candidates contesting the area.

They are Laurie Bidwell, Labour; Kevin Cordell, SNP; Craig Duncan, Liberal Democrats; Ken Guild, SNP; Derek Scott, Conservative and Rod Wallace, Conservative.

The election takes place on Thursday, May 3.

To be able to vote in these elections you must be 18 years of age or over on the day of the election and be registered to vote.

Since May, 2007, councillors have been elected using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system which allows voters to express a preference for more than one candidate.

It is a form of proportional representation which uses preferential voting in multi-member wards.

Preferential voting means that instead of casting a single vote for a single candidate, you can rank the candidates on the ballot paper in your order of preference by putting a ‘1’ in the voting box next to your first choice, ‘2’ in the box next to your second choice and so on.

You can vote for as many or as few candidates as you wish.