Eddie’s invitation to Duel in the Pool

Eddie Wilmott with some of the young St Thomas swimmers in Arbroath Sports Centre on Tuesday evening.
Eddie Wilmott with some of the young St Thomas swimmers in Arbroath Sports Centre on Tuesday evening.

Carnoustie’s Eddie Wilmott has accepted an invitation to chair the jury of appeal for this year’s Duel In The Pool event.

It takes place at Glasgow’s Tollcross International Swimming Centre on December 20 and 21.

Eddie has been a member of Scottish Swimming (SASA) and St Thomas ASC since 1984. He is currently president of St Thomas Amateur Swimming Club based in Arbroath and was awarded a life membership in 2002.

He is a previous president of SASA Midland District and is vice-president of Scottish Swimming. He is a member of the Scottish Swimming (SASA) National Arbitration Panel and has carried out tasks for the Fina Swimming Governing Body.

Since 1985 he has been a timekeeper, judge, starter, recorder and referee and is a former member of the National Swimming Technical Officials’ Committee.

He has refereed at several international and national competitions and will again be involved at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

A second member of the jury would on alternate days be either Craig Hunter or Carol Zaleski.

Eddie told the Guide & Gazette: “I am particularly delighted, and indeed honoured, to have been invited to chair the Jury of Appeal at what has been described as the ‘Ryder Cup’ of swimming, working alongside Craig Hunter, a member of the Ligue Europeenne De Natation Technical Swimming Committee, and Carol Zaleski, chairman of the Fina Technical Committee.”

The event will feature some of the finest swimmers in the world facing off in a unique contest between between the USA and the European Allstars over short course (25m) distance.

British swimming stars Michael Jamieson and Fran Halsall will be part of a strong European team for this year’s competition against the USA in Glasgow. They will face an American team which features some of swimming’s elite names such as Ryan Lochte, Katie Ledecky, Conor Dwyer, Shannon Vreeland and Tyler Clary.