Carnoustie school awards presented

The 2013 prize winners at Carlogie Primary School pictured on Wednesday.
The 2013 prize winners at Carlogie Primary School pictured on Wednesday.

Carlogie Primary School celebrated the hard work and achievements of its pupils at its annual prize-giving last week.

On Wednesday pupils were awarded for their efforts in academic, artistic, civic and sporting achievements.

Trophy winners were: Iles Trophy for P6 handwriting – Jake Strachan, 6b; Blease Cup for P6 art – Kirsten Allardyce, 6a; Ross Cup for science – Callum Lang, 7a; Scottish Country Dance Cup – Alistair Rice, 7b; Soutar Plaque for London and Dalguise diary writing – Abbey Cargill, 7b; Lucy Harris, 7b; Kate Samson, 7b; Photographic competition – Dougie Hill, 7b; Smart Trophy – Jamie Winterton, 7b; Davison Cup – Aiden Edwards, 7b; Jackson Cup for P7 writing – Niamh Milne; Abigail Smith Cup for P4 art – Lilly Hirsch, 4c; Nicoll Cup for P5 information and computer technology – Matthew Borrie; Rotary Poetry Prize – Luke Burgess, 7a

The winner of the Leng Medal was Lana Conchie, 7a. Finalists awarded Robert Burns World Federation Certificates for excellence in the singing of Scottish songs were: Nyah Allardice, 7a; Abbey Cargill, 7b; Jasmine Doyle, 7a; Chloe Duncan, 7b; Rahma Ferguson, 7a; Christie Langlands, 7a; Niamh Milne, 7a; Leah Paton, 7b; Zoe Porter, 7b; Kate Samson, 7b; and Tiegan Stewart, 7a.

The winners of the Robert Burns World Federation competition for excellence in recitation from Scottish literature were by class: 1a – 1, Euan Goodlad; Lucas Knox; Jema Reid; 1b – 1, Kelsey Torrie; Kaine Johnston; Austin Whittet; 2a – 1, Jennifer Lindsay; Mackenzie Gilbert; Esme Millar; 2b – 1, Sean Thomson; George McDonald; Erin Robinson; 3a – 1, Denzhe Ratshilumela; Cameron Stuart; Harrison Whittet; 3b – 1, Anna Strachan; Rhys Hoon; Mia Lomax; 3/4c – 1, Carla Brown; Blair Campbell; Amie Reid; 4a – 1, Sean Michael Stewart; Leena Aljibouri; Bradley Knox; 4/5b – 1, Michaela Duffy; Emily Cattanach; Ami Conchie; 5a – 1, Natasha Thoms; Marnie Laidlaw; Madison King; 6a – 1, Marc Jamieson; Samantha Rattray; 6b – 1, Lily Shepherd; Corey Cheape; 7a – 1, Tiegan Stewart; Niamh Milne; Rahma Ferguson; 7b – 1, Kate Samson; Matthew Sheppard; Megan Athey.

Sporting awards were as follows: girls’ athletic champion – Lucy Hopper, 7a; boys’ – Drew Christie, 7b; girls’ swimming champion – Sarah Oliphant, 7a; boys’ – Drew Christie, 7b; Carlogie representative on Angus Select football squad – Jamie Chalmers, 7b; Golf Rosebowl – Ross Barclay, 7b; interhouse football – Ramsay; interhouse netball – Dalhousie; interhouse athletics – Dalhousie; interhouse swimming – Maule; Webster Trophy for academic and sporting points – Dalhousie.