A CARNOUSTIE woman who helped found a Glamis museum died on Thursday.
Lilian Craig (86), of Westhaven, was born on June 22, 1925, and was educated in Dundee following which she trained as a draughtswoman.
She worked for a time in the Blackness Foundry in the city, before moving to take up a position with Bonar Long & Co., where she met her first husband, the late Tom Long. The couple were married in 1947.
Mrs Craig was sadly widowed in 1979 but through her work as a charity volunteer she found love again and married River Tay pilot Bill Craig in 1987.
She had one son from her previous marriage, the late Dick Long, and is survived by her stepson, Michael long.
Mrs Craig was instrumental in setting up the Angus Folk Museum in Glamis and worked to bring the project to fruition with Lady Maitland, who gifted her collections to the nation in the 1950s.
Since 1976, the attraction has been administered by the National Trust For Scotland and contains one of the most acclaimed folk collections in the country.
Over the years, Mrs Craig was involved with various charitable organisations which included the King george V Sailors’ children’s charity and a spina bifida group.
She met her husband, Bill, while working with the Cyrenians in Dundee, a charity which assists people with alcohol dependency issues.
In her spare time Mrs Craig enjoyed reading and tapestry and had a keen interest in antiques.
She lived in both Dundee and Monifieth before moving to Westhaven. She latterly resided at Tigh-Na-Muirn Care Home.