Guide to European elections

European Union flag
European Union flag

Elections for the European Parliament will be held on Thursday (May 22).

Voters will choose 73 MEPs in 12 multi-member regional constituencies. Each region has a different number of MEPs based on its population.

In Scotland, six MEPs are elected by proportional representation, in order as listed by their party.

The number of MEPs each party gets is calculated using a formula called d’Hondt, except in Northern Ireland, where the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system is used.

All registered people in Angus will have received a poll card through their door in the run up to the election which will clearly indicate where they should go to cast their vote.

Each polling place will be open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. on polling day.

Britain is one of eight countries – including Germany and France – to use a ‘closed list’ system. So you vote for a party, rather than an individual.

The parties themselves decide who goes on the candidate list for each of the 12 electoral regions.

The ones at the top stand the best chance of being elected.

The contest in Scotland will inevitably be seen as dry run for September’s independence referendum.

A recent poll suggested the SNP will gain the most MEPs, adding to its tally of two. Candidates:

Britain First

James Dowson

John Arthur Randall

Jayda Fransen

Geoffrey Clynch

Margaret Clynch

Jane Shepherd

British National Party

Kenneth McDonald

David Orr

Victoria McKenzie

Angus Matthys

Paul Stafford

Stacey Fleming


Ian Duncan

Belinda Don

Nosheena Mobarik

Jamie Gardiner

Iain McGill

Stuart McIntyre

Green Party

Maggie Chapman

Chas Booth

Grace Murray

Alastair Whitelaw

Anne Thomas

Steen Parish

Labour Party

David Martin

Catherine Stihler

Derek Munn

Katrina Murray

Asim Khan

Kirsty O’Brien

Liberal Democrats

George Lyon

Christine Jardine

Richard Brodie

Jade Holden

Siobhan Mathers

Euan Davidson


John Foster

Andrew Elliott

Murdo Maclean

Gail Morrow

Brian Smith

Richard Veitch

Scottish National Party

Ian Hudghton

Alyn Smith

Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh

Stephen Gethins

Toni Giugliano

Chris Stephens


David Coburn

Kevin Newton

Otto Inglis

Denise Baykal

Hugh Hatrick

Malcolm Mackay