Plaque panel is revealed

Historic Scotland has confirmed the membership of the independent panel of experts who will choose the recipients winners of the Commemorative Plaque Scheme for 2012.

The experts will assess all the nominations and will decide on a maximum of 12 plaques which will be awarded to significant historic figures in Scotland.

The annual scheme, launched in August by cabinet secretary for culture and external affairs, Fiona Hyslop will recognise the contribution of recipients to Scottish society through the erection of a plaque on their home where they lived, or the building that was particularly synonymous with their achievements.

The panel’s membership represents a broad cross-section of expertise and disciplines who are well placed to decide on the worthy recipients of the Commemorative Plaque Scheme.

The panel will consist of: Jim Tough, The Saltire Society; Professor Seona Reid, Glasgow School of Art; Dr Fiona Watson, Dundee University; Professor Graham Caie, The Royal Society of Edinburgh; Dr Jenny Wormald, University of Edinburgh; and Dr Gary West, senior lecturer in Scottish ethnology and Scottish historical studies.