A sporting miscellany

Rugby awards

CARNOUSTIE HSFP RFC held their annual presentation dinner recently in the Carnoustie Golf Hotel.

President, Chris Ayres presented the following awards: Player of Year  -  Craig Dawson; Players’ Player  -  Craig Dawson; Young Player of the Year  -  Kyle Burwood; Coaches’ Player  -  Colin Murray; Most Improved Player  -  Ian Reid / Dean Nicholson; Clubperson of Year  -  Cal Owens; Captains  v   Vice-Captains    -  Captains, Ally Macdonald; Kicking Cup  -  Craig Dawson; Perfect Tackle  -  Matt MacDonald; Top Try Scorer  -  Gavin Dissel; Endeavor Trophy  -  Micheal Cowan / Ian Cook; and Fitness Trophy  -  Alasdair Shepherd.

Kyle Burwood attended the SRU Presentation Dinner on the same evening where he was awarded Player of the Year for Midland Division Two. Chris Ayres made special mention of George Taylor, Willie Coleman, Jock Anderson, Peter Christie, Ally Macdonald, Bruce Langlands and Grant Stewart for all their hard work during the year.

Pre-season training has now started and anyone who would like to come along should contact Cal Owens on 07718218390.

Carnoustie pool trophy winners

CARNOUSTIE Pool League held their finals day in the British Legion on Sunday.

Trophy winners were: League winners – Taymouth Kinners; runners-up – 19TH Hole ‘A’: Consolation league winners – Craw’s Nest: League Cup winners – Taymouth Kinners; runners-up – Stag: Consolation Cup winners – Dalhousie; runners-up – 19TH hole: Dave Leadingham Knock-Out Cup winners – 19TH Hole ‘A’; runners-up – Taymouth Kinners.

Singles - N. Denson, Stag; runner-up - G. Thain, 19TH Hole: Doubles - M. Reid/G. Sandilands, 19TH Hole; runners-up - S. Liness/W. Wallace, Craw’s Nest; Triples - N. Denson/K. Dunn/R. Griffin, Stag; runners-up - G. Thain/P. Elrick/D. Black, 19TH Hole.

Champion of Champion Singles - N. Denson, Stag; runner-up - D. Elder, 19TH Hole ‘A’: Champion of Champion Doubles- G. Singer/D. Elder, 19TH Hole ‘A’; runners-up - I. Smart/I. Henderson, British Legion: Eight Ball Shield – N. Denson, Stag; runner-up - R. Murray, Taymouth Kinners.

The Captains’ Cup is still to be played.

Tay sailing

RESULTS in the Scottish Kestrel Championship include the following: 1, 1610 S. and D. Murdoch, Royal Tay Yacht Club; 2, 1574 D. Hearsum/G. Fay Hickling Broad SC; 3, 1621 M. Worsley/K. Scott Brown, RTYC.

Squib class – 1, 577 B. Wilson/ A. Benson; 2, 750 D. Levison and family; 3, 639 B. Watson/S. Bannerman, all RTYC. Dinghy One and ASA Trophy – 1, RS 100, K. Cuthbert, Dalgety Bay; 2, Musto Skiff, P. Barnett, RTYC; 3, A Class Catamaran, S. Menhinick RTYC. Dinghy Two and ASA Shield – 1, Laser 1, R. Broadhurst, RTYC; 2, Laser 39276, P. Tait, Forfar; 3, Laser 184173, B. Hamilton, Wormit. Guthrie Cup, 1st Scrambull – S. Ogston, Wormit. 1st Mirror – A. Whitely/M. Hallum, Ullswater. Lawson Cup – 1, Kestrel 1574, D. Hearsum/G. Fay; 2, S. and D. Murdoch; 3, Kestrel 1545, S. and L. Worf, Calshott. First lady – F. Ferguson, RTYC. First under-18 – Mirror, A. Whitely/M. Hallum. First Loch Tummel boat – A. Ferguson. First Forfar – P. Tait. First Wormit – D. Shepherd. Fastest lap – S. Menhinick. Wiggy 11 Trophy – S. Combes, RTYC.