Penalty shoot-out

editorial image

THE ANGUS Trophy Centre Invitational Cup held at Carnoustie Leisure Centre on Sunday was won by the President’s Select.

The event, organised by Carnoustie Panmure Under-19s, was for coaches and players with other teams invited to attend. Eight teams comprising 40 players took part in the feisty three-hour tournament.

A controversial disallowed goal in the final between the President’s Select and Euro No Good meant that the competition was decided on penalties. Under-19s manager Billy Hoon made the crucial saves with club president Derek Millar scoring the winning goal.

Our picture shows the winning team, the President’s Select, with their impressive trophy. They are, from left - Derek Millar, Mike Andrews, Tam McCabe, Stuart Watt and Billy Hoon.