Badminton players pick up their prizes

editorial image

CARNOUSTIE Badminton Club held its annual prize-giving and annual general meeting recently in the Station Hotel.

Prize-winners were as follows:

Under-13: Girls’ Singles - Sophie Meek; runner-up - Rebecca Howlett. Boys’ Singles - James Lochart; runner-up - Craig Tindall.

Junior: Girls’ Singles - Sophie Law; runner-up - Kristi Moir. Boys’ Singles - Scott Milne; runner-up - Drew Moir. Doubles - Sophie Law and Rosie Burton; runners-up - Leah Bow and Drew Moir.

Senior: Ladies’ Doubles - Judy Goodfellow and Carol Marshall; runners-up - Joyce Chalmers and Kay Smart. Gents Doubles - Graham Chalmers and Julian MacLean; runners-up - Brian Moodie and Colin Sinclair. Mixed Doubles - Val Scorgie and Lachlan Mulford; runners-up - Norma Angus and Mike Law.

At the AGM which followed, the match secretary reported that the DABA first team had finished in mid-table in Division One and in the lower half of Division Two.

In the ABA leagues, the situation is as yet unclear as the competition has not yet been completed, but mid-table for all teams seems likely.

Office-bearers for next season were elected: president, Colin Sinclair; secretary, Val Scorgie; Treasurer, Joyce Chalmers; match secretary, Teresa Lapadula and Mike Law; social convener, Jerry Forteath. No major changes are to take place in arrangements for next season which will start towards the end of August.