Cup final upset for Musketeers

editorial image

On Sunday the Tayside Musketeer’s junior men lined up against St Mirren in the Scottish Cup junior men’s final.

With St Mirren being top of the league and unbeaten it would be a tough challenge.

The game was part of cup finals weekend, where six games were played over two days in Edinburgh.

St Mirren started off well, employing tough defence and going on an 8-0 run early on.

The Musketeer’s players looked nervous in the spotlight.

At the halfway point it was a commanding lead for St Mirren and the quarter finished with the Paisley men 22 points ahead, the score being 30-8.

The second quarter got underway with the Muskies pushing hard on offence and finally starting to find their feet. This forced St Mirren into calling a time out with three minutes gone in the second quarter.

Duncan Patullo of the Musketeers scored off a quick pass bringing Tayside within 15 points, and it looked like a Musketeers’ surge was on its way.

The half finished with big defence from the Muskies and a couple of quick baskets, ending the half with the score Tayside Musketeers 28, St Mirren 41.

Tayside grabbed the first points of the third quarter, cutting the difference to 11 points seconds after the restart.

A short span of rash play by the Musketeers then allowed the Paisley side to increase their lead.

Unfortunately, Muskies guard Lewis Esplin suffered a serious injury, dislocating his shoulder, and he was a big loss for the side who were still 21 points behind as the third quarter drew to a close.

The fourth quarter began a little slowly, with the Musketeers giving some of the younger inexperienced players a chance in the cup final spotlight.

At the halfway stage it was a 27 point lead for the Saints and Jeb Spink tried to keep the Musketeers in it, hitting a big three with three minutes left

Some fast break play finished the game with both sides exchanging baskets.

The final score was Tayside Musketeers 49, St Mirren 76.

Scorers – Nicky Sim 16, Jeb Spink 12, Mark Myers 10, Lewis Esplin 7 and Duncan Pattullo 4.