Forfarshire’s super Saturday

Forfarshire were crowned CSL Division One champions and promoted to the Premier Division after a 78-run victory at Penicuik on Saturday.

And Forthill 2nd XI’s 10-wicket home win over Breadalbane sparked a double celebration at Forthill as they leap-frogged Dalnacraig to take top spot in Division One of the Strathmore & Perthshire Union.

Penicuik v Forfarshire

Needing two points to keep ahead of title challengers Falkland, Forfarshire chose to bat first at Kirkhill and reached 13 for no wicket after four overs when Craig Wallace adopted an aggressive approach to get off the mark, hitting a four and a straight six.

He and Matt Parker took the visitors to 50 for no wicket in 10 overs.

The first wicket fell in the 14th over when Craig Wallace appeared slow to turn for a second run and was run out by a distance. Two balls later Parker hit a high full toss from Steel to mid-on, and in his next over Steel deceived David Colin-Thome who left a turning delivery that hit off stump.

Scott Cameron and Scott Galloway came together at 78 for 3 and settled the innings for a short while before a straight full toss accounted for Cameron.

Aman Bailwal joined Galloway and together they worked the ball well around the ground as the Forfs total recovered slowly from 91 for 4, and a total of 200 looked a possibility until with the total on 144 a rising delivery took the edge of Bailwal’s bat and he was well caught by the Penicuik wicket keeper to end the partnership that added 53 for the fifth wicket.

Tony Weed and Tim Scoular fell in consecutive overs and after a brief partnership with Andy Wallace, a mis-judged second run by Galloway saw him short of his ground as the Forfarshire innings headed towards an under par 172 all out.

The opening attack of Bailwal and Scoular searched for the early breakthrough that was needed and it was a nervy wait until the seventh over when a short ball from Bailwal found the top edge of K. Steel’s bat to give Craig Wallace a high catch.

Parker held a sharp gulley catch three overs later to remove Ashforth, off the bowling of Scoular, and another wicket for him in his next over saw Pencuik 23 for 3.

Bailwal quickly followed that by bowling C. Steel for a duck to give Forfs the start they needed. The introduction of Andy Wallace saw Penicuik fall behind the required run rate, and two wickets in two overs including another excellent gulley catch from Parker put the game and promotion well within ‘Shire’s grasp.

The home tail hung around longer than expected after two more wickets for Andy Wallace and one for Dale Sweeney left Forfs needing a wicket for victory and eventually it came from Scoular who beat the defences of Scott to shatter his stumps and spark scenes of celebration. 



M. Parker ct D. Adams b K. Steel 33

C. Wallace ro 21

S. Cameron b R. Adams 10

D. Colin-Thome b K. Steel 0

S. Galloway ro 43

A. Bailwal ct Crawford b K. Steel 24

T. Weed ct Ashforth b C. Steel 1

T. Scoular ct Ashforth b K. Steel 0

A. Wallace ct Ashforth b Hafiz 5

D. Sweeney ct D. Adams b Hafiz 0

L. Sweeney no 1

Extras 34

Total 10 wickets, 43 overs 172


A. Bailwal 9 2 15 2

T. Scoular 11.5 3 25 3

A. Wallace 11 4 14 4

D. Sweeney 3 0 19 1

L. Sweeney 5 0 10 0


K. Steel ct C. Wallace b Bailwal 9

C. Ashforth ct Parker b Scoular 8

C. Steel b Bailwal 0

E. Potts ct Cameron b Scoular 2

D. Adams lbw A. Wallace 9

R. Adams ct Parker b A. Wallace 3

S. Green b D. Sweeney 8

C. Crawford ct Colin-Thome 
b A. Wallace 8

S. Charleston no 13

N. Hafiz ct Cameron b A. Wallace 2

J. Scott b Scoular 5

Extras 27

Total 10 wickets, 39.5 overs 94


C. Ashforth 6 1 35 0

J. Scott 8 0 27 0

R. Adams 7 2 24 1

K. Steel 13 0 47 4

C. Steel 7 1 23 1

N. Hafiz 2 0 3 2

Result: Forfarshire won by 78 runs.

Breadalbane v Autoecosse Forthill 2nd XI

Forthill 2nd XI had made an almost unnoticed charge up the SPCU Division One league table in recent weeks that set up a final weekend scenario of a win over Breadalbane and a defeat for Dalnacraig at Coupar Angus would see the Forthill collect the league title.

Breadalbane batted first and 3 for 16 from Rory Johnston and 3 for 30 from Andy Cameron saw Forthill set 139 to win in 45 overs.

With an array of batting talent in the line-up, hopes of victory were high and it was Christian Robertson, 75 not out and Callum Garden, 40 not out, who continued their fine form of late to knock off the required runs without loss.

Attention then turned to events at Larghan Park and a series of ‘phone calls revealed that Coupar Angus had successfully chased down Dalnacraig’s 180 and Forthill 2nd XI were Division One champions.



M. Bax lbw Cameron 5

S. Warrack b Cameron 6

J. Bax ct Johnston b Cameron 14

M. Burrows ct Robertson 
b Craig McConnachie 27

M. Bridgeman ct garden b Hogarth 17

M. Blanchet ct garden b Hogarth 17

A. Crerar ct Hill b Johnston 16

D. Grace ct Carnegie b Johnston 0

P. Hall ct Carnegie b Craig 
McConnachie 5

R. Viviani ct Craig McConnachie 
b Johnston 0

Ellie no 1

Extras 30

Total 10 wickets 138


M. Bax 9 1 39 0

S. Warrack 3 0 29 0

D. Grace 4 0 38 0

M. Blanchet 1 0 24 0

M. Burrows 1 0 9 0

Forthill 2nd XI

C. Garden no 40

C. Robertson no 75

Did not bat – Craig McConnachie, S. Sim, Clark McConnachie, S. Hill, B. Robertson, A. Cameron, J. Hogarth, R. Johnston, G. Carnegie.

Extras 24

Total 0 wickets 139


S. Hill 9 1 26 0

A. Cameron 6 0 30 3

J. Hogarth 6 1 39 2

Craig McConnachie 8 2 25 2

R. Johnston 4.2 0 16 3

Result: Forthill 2nd XI won by 10 wickets.

Autoecosse Forthill 3rd XI v Arbroath United XI  

Forthill 3rd XI rounded off the season with a tightly contested encounter with Arbroath United 2nd XI on Sunday.

Kailas Narayanan returned his season’s best figures of 3 for 16 while two wickets each for Cameron Walker, Andy Cameron and Rory Johnston saw the visitors finish on 166 for 9 after 40 overs.

Johnston, 69 and Cameron, 31 got the run chase off to a great start before Arbroath fought back through two wickets each for Carnegie and McGill, but Callum Garden restored order with 27 not out to complete a fine three wicket win.

Fixtures: Tomorrow (Saturday), friendly – Falkland Sixes v Forfarshire, Scroggie Park, 1.15 p.m.