Future looks brighter for Panmure Rugby Club

editorial image

PANMURE RFC First XV, which plays in Caledonia Midlands Division Three, is having an exceptional season, and with 11 wins from 11 games is already guaranteed promotion to Caledonia Midlands Division Two.

The club has also managed to field a Second XV this season, the first time for many years. It plays in Caledonia Midlands Division Two Reserve League and is currently lying second to Harris Second XV and playing some good solid rugby.

Panmure, based at Forthill, Broughty Ferry, have spent a few years in the doldrums, but hard work and dedication from all involved with the club has produced a real turnaround.

An influx of players made up from the farming community, students and the return of some players who started their playing careers at Panmure as boys, together with the commitment of long-term players, has produced a side hungry for success. There is a real buzz and a pride in being part of ‘The Pannie Machine’ .

With a new sponsor, Welch & Sons Seed merchants, new strips and a new coach, Panmure have much to shout about. Top points scorer for the season so far is one James Millar with 100 points from 11 appearances.

The President’s Smoker and Coach’s Cocktail Party last Saturday saw a lighter side to the club, as opposed to the hard training schedule the players go through.

Founded in September, 1880, Panmure RFC is the oldest rugby Club in Dundee. The Forthill base has excellent grounds and facilities to rival many a premier rugby club. Good food and lots of refreshments follow a game - Panmure’s hospitality is legendary.

Anyone who would like to be involved should check out the website at www.panmurerfc.org.uk or just come along to a game.

l The Panmure First XV comprises, from left, back - Chic Millar, president; Mike Niven, James Philp, vice-captain; Sam Ross, Graham Beatt,

Duncan Lindsay, Martin Lawrie, Liam Tares, Robbie Gray, Dave D’Ambrosio, Phil Herd, David Wilson, James Davie, Greg Liddle, Graham Ogg, fitness coach; Bruce Welch, vice-president; and Jimmy Michie, coach: front - Hugh Brunton, Sean Haren, Lewis Millar, Cameron Crombie, Colin Erskine, Gordon Melville, captain; C. James Millar, Gordon Gray and James Fairlie.