glenrothes swept aside at forthill

Forthill batsman Matthew Parker
Forthill batsman Matthew Parker

Forfarshire welcomed Glenrothes to Forthill on Saturday for a Cricket Scotland League match and swept the visitors aside.

‘Shire called correctly at the toss and opted to take first use of a good Forthill wicket. Some movement through the air, and off the pitch gave the visiting attack early encouragement, but Matt Parker, 75 from 120 balls and Craig Wallace, 60 from 54 balls, soon settled at the crease to post a century opening partnership in the 20th over.

The introduction of Wright brought immediate rewards for Glenrothes when Wallace offered a catch to mid-on and next ball Scott Galloway fell to a good catch by Greaves in the covers, to see the Forfs 112 for two after 23 overs.

From 136 for 2 after 30 overs, the run rate picked up quickly and Parker was unfortunate to drag a delivery from Crichton onto his stumps with the total on 211 in the 41st over. This brought Aman Bailwal to the crease and his outstanding 63 not out from just 31 balls, including seven 4s and two 6s, helped propel the Forfs score to 299 for 3 after 50 overs with Garden finishing unbeaten on 72 from 77 balls.

The Glenrothes reply saw Greaves join Hopcroft in the second over after Wright was bowled by Bailwal, 5 for 17, and the pair looked set to attack the Forfs bowling whenever possible. However, with the total on 20 from 5 overs, Bailwal trapped Greaves in front to halt the scoring and Hopcroft followed soon after bowled by Bailwal as did Evason very next ball, to leave Glenrothes struggling at 27 for 4.

A lively delivery from Tim Scoular found the edge of Watson’s bat and Garden held a head high slip catch to make it 27 for five. Bailwal’s fifth wicket saw Rakshit out lbw before Scoular hit the stumps twice in two balls in the very next over, only missing a hat-trick by the smallest of margins, before sealing victory for the Forfs in the 17th over with another two wickets to finish with figures of 5 for 25.



M. Parker b Crichton 75

C. Wallace c Hutchison b Wright 60

S. Galloway c Greaves b Wright 0

G. Garden no 72

A. Bailwal no 63

Did not bat: S. Cameron, L. Sweeney, G. Black, A. Wallace, T. Scoular, D. Colin-Thome. Extras 29

Total 3 wickets, 50 overs 299


T. Scoular 9 3 25 5

A. Bailwal 8 2 17 5


G. Hopcroft b Bailwal 14

R. Wright b Bailwal 0

C. Greaves lbw Bailwal 10

R. Watson ct Garden b Scoular 2

R. Evason b Bailwal 0

G. Robinson ct Wallace b Scoular 6

S. Rakshit lbw Bailwal 4

J. Pal c Wallace b Scoular 2

D. Lewis b Scoular 0

K. Crichton b Scoular 2

R. Hutchison no 0 Total 10 wickets, 17 overs 48


D. Lewis 5 1 21 0

K. Crichton 8 0 53 1

C. Greaves 6 1 32 0

R. Watson 12 2 49 0 R. Wright 6 0 35 2

J. Pal 10 0 82 0

R. Hutchison 3 0 19 0

Result: Forfarshire won by 251 runs.