‘Shire progress to quarter-finals

Forthill batsman Matt Parker
Forthill batsman Matt Parker

Autoecosse Forfarshire qualified for the quarter-finals of the Cricket Scotland Trophy after finishing second in group B of the Scottish Cup.

Their progress in the competition was thanks to an eight-wicket win over Kelburne at Forthill.

Forfarshire v Kelburne

Kelburne chose to bat first and made effective use of the fast outfield and powerplay field in the opening overs and raced to 85 for no wicket after 17 overs when Quinn found the edge of McMillan’s bat and Craig Wallace took a good catch standing up to the wicket.

Watson was a late addition to the Forfs squad and his wholehearted 12-over spell included the dismissal of dangerman Sheikh, well caught by Craig Wallace diving to his left.

Watson and Scott Cameron fought to keep the run rate in check and the Forfs struck again at 145 for 3 in the 32nd over when Bennett was stumped off Liam Sweeney for a well made 78.

Forfs bowled well in the latter stages to restrict Kelburne to 255 for 8 at the end of 50 overs. Parker and Craig Wallace looked at ease against the Kelburne attack and took the total past 100 in the 19th over with both reaching 50.

A 10-wicket victory was not impossible as 200 approached, but Parker chased a wide delivery from Arbuckle and offered a simple catch to Hussain to end the partnership on 190. Craig Wallace reached a well deserved 100 and along with a quick 15 from Hancock and similar from McCandless, Forfs reached their target in the 44th over, Craig Wallace finishing on 117 not out.



I. Bennett st C. Wallace b L. Sweeney 78

M. McMillan c C. Wallace b Quinn 28

Q. Sheikh c C. Wallace b Watson 6

O. Hussain c Galloway b S. Cameron 63

S. McLister b S. Cameron 23

S. Hamilton ro 1

R. McLean no 18

C. McLardie b L. Sweeney 10

D. Campbell c McCandless b Watson 1

L. Farndale no 6

Did not bat - R. Arbuckle

Extras 21

Total 8 wickets, 50 overs 255


S. McLister 9 0 36 1

R. McLean 10 1 60 0

S. Hamilton 7 0 50 0

I. Bennett 8 0 48 0

R. Arbuckle 8 0 40 1

D. Campbell 1.1 0 16 0


M. Parker c Hussain b Arbuckle 88

C. Wallace no 117

T. Hancock c Sheikh b McLister 15

E. McCandless no 15

Did not bat – S. Galloway, L. Sweeney, M. Watson, S. Cameron, A. Wallace, A. Cameron, G. Quinn.

Extras 21

Total two wickets, 43.1 overs 256


G. Quinn 10 2 34 1

A. Wallace 4 0 46 0

S. Cameron 10 1 33 2

M. Watson 12 1 59 2

L. Sweeney 12 0 65 2

S. Galloway 2 0 9 0

Result: Forfarshire won by eight wickets.